Welcome

Hi! I’m Jeff Levin and welcome to my blog.

Professionally, I practice acupuncture, chinese herbology, yoga therapy, and hatha yoga in Portland.

As an amatuer, I like to eat good food, drink tasty wine, quaff suburb coffee, create stellar art, and contemplate the nature of the universe.

The pages in my blog reflect this multi-faceted approach to existence.

In other news…

I just rediscovered this quote in ‘Freedom from the Known.’ I feel it sums up my current world view better than I can. Unfortunately, I think that just by quoting it, I am undermining what it’s actually trying to say, that truth and the divine are accessed through the individual, not through fancy quotes. I suppose that is the wisdom of paradox.

“You may think there is no waste of energy if you imitate, if you accept authority, if you depend on the priest, the ritual, the dogma, the party or on some ideology, but the following and acceptance of an ideology, whether it is good or bad, whether it is holy or unholy, is a fragmentary activity and therefore a cause of conflict, and conflict will inevitably arise so long as there is a division between ‘what should be’ and ‘what is’, and any conflict is a dissipation of energy.” – Krishnamurti

5 Responses to “Welcome”

  1. Bernard Levin Says:

    This teaching is accomplished by providing fancy quotes, and that is most honorable. Regarding the folly of imitation, being a waste of time is the least of the damage; denying one’s individual search for truth is the more serious result. “O ye beloved of the Lord, in this sacred dispensation, conflict and contention are in no way permitted. Every aggressor deprives himself of God’s grace.” (Baha’u’llah).

  2. Krishnamurthi rocks!

  3. THANK YOU FOR SENDING THIS AMAZING WRITING TO ME…it is truly amazing! I FEEL you will be very successful in all the healing fields in which you excel and are certified and licensed…and even in areas you have yet to approach. IT is wonderful to have so many interests and so many skills and to be able to help people with your abilities. Personally, I HAVE enjoyed collaborating with you on the new, unique and special project, “TUESDAYS WITH NANI”, AND I FEEL THIS TOO WILL BE A HUGE SUCCESS..IT IS A ONE AND ONLY. I LOOK FORWARD TO further communication soon. I will digest your blog, inch by inch, but it may take a few days. In admiration & affection, Nani June

  4. We are one with the universe.

  5. Deb Wigant Says:

    Hey look at this, I finally made it.

    Yes Paradox for sure. The second one is a little deep for me, I think that hard and I have to see my acupuncturist.. LOL No just kidding, you rock on all fronts and I am going to miss you very much.

    Now stop drop and relax a little with some of that tasty wine, like me.

    See you Thursday! Deb 🙂

Leave a comment