Unleash your inner awesomeness

I work very hard on maintaining a positive attitude and ignoring all forms of popular media. Still, I hear things from people around town, since I have my ear to the ground. As an acupuncturist and yoga teacher people reveal to me many of their more intimate details: their worries and concerns, fears and doubts. Over the years I’ve learned a few things from these glimpses into so many souls: People are awesome. Which is surprising since there seem to be so many jerks on the road. (George Carlin observed that if some one drives faster than you they are a maniac and if they drive slower they’re an a******).  Another thing I’ve learned is that people are wily. Those who are challenged by life seem to rise to the challenge with incredible inventiveness and tenacity.

I won’t lie to you, times have been tough for me. I won’t go into too much boring detail, but I guess there’s this whole economy thing that has people freakin’ out and everyone says that’s why lots of people around town are having a tough time too. With my ear to the ground I hear some sad tales. Like many others some of my hopes and dreams have died while others have been postponed. A couple of days ago I thought, maybe the Buddhists are right, maybe life is suffering…

 But you know what?!? I have way too good of a time to believe that, even in tough times. Regardless, of my circumstance I have a real good time doing what I do, and I feel damn good in this bag of skin, aches and pains and all. The bleaker things get, the more I loose, the freer I seem to feel to fully unleash my inner awesomeness and re-create myself and my circumstances.

Most of all, I’m surrounded by a whole lotta love and this seems to be getting me outta the funk and back to being an acupunk.

2 Responses to “Unleash your inner awesomeness”

  1. Your favorite little sister loves you and knows you are going to go on to bigger and better things!
    xo

  2. Needed this right now Jeff. I’m having a true day to unleash my inner awesomeness. xo, SAM

Leave a comment